Hello from Belogradchik, Bulgaria!

My friends and family, I simply cannot express how full my heart is as I write these posts. Typing these words, re-reading the story from the day, makes me re-live and re-appreciate everything I’ve experienced. Sometimes I still can’t even believe I am here! And my heart leaps for the days down the road where I will re-read these and experience all those wonderful feelings all over again.

Today, we visited/experienced Bulgaria’s natural wonder, the “Belogradchik Rocks.” The red-hued cliffs and breathtaking mountains were incredible. It was amazing the master pieces that weathering, erosion, freezing, and countless other factors had formed. It triggered your imaginative side as you saw certain piles of rocks seemingly shaped like two lovers kissing, or maybe shaped like an elephant’s head. It was truly a rock version of cloud watching. The green colors of the trees were unreal. The smell of life bursting all around you was inspiring.

But the view.

The way your jaw hit the floor.

The way your eyes danced at the sights.

The way your entire body experienced the excitement of being alive to see this view.

Was priceless.

Everywhere you looked was spectacular. The mountains + the greenest trees you’ve ever seen + the energy of those experiencing it with you, made for a moment that I will truly never forget. We all snapped a million pictures, attempting to capture even just a little bit of the magic in a still picture form. Realizing that the pictures on your phone would never ever compare to the ones you’d taken with your eyes.

I had a moment where I walked ahead of the rest of the group, turned around this corner, and had found myself standing upon this rock with the most precious view. My eyes filled with tears and I cried. There was just something about that moment. Standing there, by myself, feeling surround by The Lord. Feeling overwhelmed by His beauty as I starred at His creations. It felt like He was jumping up and down with joy within me saying “do you like it? do you like it?” My soul danced with Him, because I LOVED it.

I left that place, with a million pictures, but more than that, I left with an overflowing heart. I left beaming with joy. I left breathing in air like it was the best thing since sliced bread. I am SO thankful to be alive and to be here and AHH just for everything!! We have so much to be grateful for! I have so much to be grateful for.

So as we live, day to day, on this beautiful planet we call home. May we stand on top of more cliffs, may we lose more of our breaths due to God’s amazing-ness, may our souls dance with The Lord’s as we witness earth’s beauty, because it is everywhere!

I am simply alive, more than ever.

And grateful, more than ever.

Praying deeply that you all would feel the same.

All my love,

All my joy,

Ash

 

Leave a comment